Love is all around

The Buddhist meditative practice of metta, or loving kindness, has four stages. First, the meditator directs loving kindness toward themselves. Then they switch it toward someone they feel love for already. Next, they transmit the loving-kindness toward someone to whom they feel neutral. And finally toward all beings, everywhere, without distinction. This is the perfect exercise for expanding the heart and finding that the capacity to love is infinite.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: